Lakota School Board Elects New 2017 President

Lakota School Board Elects New 2017 President
Posted on 01/12/2017
Ben Dibble

Ben Dibble was named president of the Lakota Board of Education at the board’s organizational meeting Monday. Todd Parnell retained his position as vice president. Lynda O’Connor, Ray Murray, and Julie Shaffer hold the other board seats. 

“I’m humbled by the opportunity to serve our community and our schools during a time when there’s so much positive energy around Lakota,” Mr. Dibble said. “We are in the midst of an intense search for the district’s next long-term leader and I’m looking forward to helping lead the board toward that important decision. We continue to find ways to enhance the experience of all students while exercising careful stewardship of our taxpayer dollars. That’s a mindset I fully intend to carry through my term as president.”

A board member since 2010, Mr. Dibble has served in the lead role once before in 2012. His family moved to Liberty Township in 1995. He is active with the Lakota Optimist Club, co-founded Children's Performing Arts of Lakota, is an active supporter of the arts in the Lakota community, and has served on other Lakota-related committees over the years.

Mr. Dibble has two Lakota East graduates, Bethany (Class of 2008) and Nathan (Class of 2011). He holds a bachelor’s degree in economics from the University of Connecticut and is employed by Hewlett Packard Enterprise as a capability manager in the analytics and data management division.

Mr. Parnell, the school board’s continuing vice president for a second year, began his term in January 2014. He is the newest member of the board and has lived in the Lakota School District for 21 years. He currently has two children attending Lakota's Heritage Elementary and Plains Junior School.

A division president with a 25-year background in corporate business, Mr. Parnell manages the midwest and eastern operations of New Jersey-based Activate/DisplayWorks. His experience includes providing marketing and communication solutions to companies worldwide.

The school board also approved a number of committee assignments:

Policy Committee: Ray Murray, Julie Shaffer

Community Engagement Committee: Lynda O’Connor, Julie Shaffer

District Parent Council: Lynda O’Connor, Julie Shaffer

Finance Committee: Todd Parnell, Julie Shaffer

Legislative Committee: Lynda O’Connor, Todd Parnell

Diversity Committee: Ray Murray, Todd Parnell, Julie Shaffer 

Representative to Butler Technology and Career Development Schools: Ray Murray

Ohio School Boards Association Legislative Liaison: Lynda O’Connor

Click here to see the complete 2017 schedule of board meetings.