Junior High Cross Country Teams Rule State

Junior High Cross Country Teams Rule State
Posted on 10/31/2016
This is the image for the news article titled Junior High Cross Country Teams Rule State

Junior High Boys Cross Country State ChampionsJunior High Girls Cross Country State Champions

The 2016 Lakota junior high cross country program has done something that has never been done before: they not only won a state championship, they won both the boys and the girls 2016 OHSAA State Championship.

Lakota junior high cross country has never gone to the state meet as a team. And this year, in addition to commanding as a team, Lakota's the junior high teams also boast seven athletes who placed in the "top 10" individually: Cali Reynolds - 10th; Jack Thompson - 9th; Zach Beneteau - 8th Zach Plotkin - 7th; Kelsi Harris - 6th Carly Spletzer - 2nd; and Cole Cronk - 1st.  Cole, Carly and Cali have all three recently been crowned GMC Champions, so being a front runner is nothing new to them. Cole’s come-from-behind victory was electrifying for the fans, because of the power he displayed at the very end of the race.

In addition to the individual success, the junior high teams also dominated. During the regular season the teams won a combined 32 trophies and nine championships, but they saved their best performances for the biggest stage.  Both Lakota's junior high boys and junior high girls were able to stand atop the podiums, besting their second place competition by 9 and 10 points respectfully.

Congratulations to our 2016 State Champions!

Lakota boys' cross country team members: Zach Beneteau, Cole Cronk, Kaleb Martin, Alex Merk, Grant Miller, Zach Plotkin, Liam Quebman, Carter Rust,  Ethan Vaught and Jacob Wilson.   

Lakota girls' cross country team members: Rachel Anderson, Kaylan Dirr, Alysa Gonzales, Carly Graham, Kelsi Harris, Anna Kluesener, Caitlyn Kozerski, Rachel McGarvey, Calista Reynolds and Carly Spletzer.