Barb Bossu Awards Celebrate Volunteer Spirit, Dedication to Lakota

Barb Bossu Awards Celebrate Volunteer Spirit, Dedication to Lakota
Posted on 05/09/2017
This is the image for the news article titled Barb Bossu Awards Celebrate Volunteer Spirit, Dedication to Lakota

Photo of Barb Bossu winners

Political activist Elizabeth Andrew stated, “Volunteers do not necessarily have the time; they have the heart.” Recently, that sentiment was highlighted as several Lakota volunteers were honored for their generous sharing of their time and talents.

During the annual Barb Bossu Volunteer Spirit awards, volunteers from each Lakota school were recognized for their positive spirit, dedication to the students and true examples of caring and commitment. The awards were established in 1990 in memory of a dedicated Lakota parent, Barb Bossu, to commemorate her enthusiastic spirit and giving nature.

In addition to the volunteers honored by the schools, a district-wide recipient is also selected; someone who has made a positive impact on the Lakota district beyond the individual school. Congratulations to Kathy Cook, who has volunteered for many district events such as Lakotafest and the Lakota 50th Anniversary Parade. She had chaired the President’s Council since 2011, helping the parent organization presidents connect with community opportunities and share best practices.

According to her nomination, “The best part of Kathy’s participation is the way in which she interacts with others. Kathy has a joyful spirit and there is no challenge that get her rattled. No matter what the hurdle, Kathy helps her fellow parent or community leaders overcome it. Kathy is positive, supportive, helpful, hardworking, and her happy spirit is infectious to those who have the privilege of working with her.”

Congratulations to the 2017 Barb Bossu Volunteer Spirit Award recipients:

  • Melissa Nath – Creekside ECS
  • Maureen Barone – Liberty ECS
  • Terra Meade – Shawnee ECS
  • Colleen Denlinger and Stephanie Patterson – Wyandot ECS
  • Hilary Knecht – Adena
  • Angel Wilhelm – Cherokee
  • Mindy Mobley – Endeavor
  • Melissa St. Clair – Freedom
  • Julie Stratman – Heritage
  • Cindy Nesgoda – Hopewell
  • “Grandpa” Jack Rogers – Independence
  • Angela Mathis and Amy Macenski – Union
  • Christy Regg- VanGorden
  • Donna Hanson – Woodland
  • Karin Miorin – Hopewell Junior
  • Jaime Lyden and Krysta Weizman – Liberty Junior
  • Johnnetta Creach – Plains Junior
  • Jennie Tinch and Kelly Reilman – Ridge Junior
  • Carolyn Landers and Mary Beth Gibbons – Lakota East High School and Lakota East Freshman
  • Anne Petersen – Lakota West Freshman
  • Cindy Schivone – Lakota West High School