East's Spark Wins 17th National Pacemaker Award

East's Spark Wins 17th National Pacemaker Award
Posted on 12/07/2017
This is the image for the news article titled East's Spark Wins 17th National Pacemaker Award

cover of winning Spark magazineThe Spark, Lakota East High School’s student publication, has once again added to its award shelf. The news magazine, under the editorial leadership of Erinn Aulfinger, Michelle Chu, Emma Stiefel and Lauren Wilson, has been named a 2017 Pacemaker Award winner from the National Scholastic Press Association for the 14th time. The Spark has been named a national print finalist 17 times since 1997.

Five issues from the 2016-2017 school year were submitted to be considered for the award. Several areas were judged, including reporting, design and editorial leadership. The 48 print finalists were announced in August, with the winners named at the national convention in November. In addition to the Pacemaker Award, Julia Sanders’ cover design depicting the feature “Fake News” was the third place winner in the Design of the Year award for news magazines. Receiving an honorable mention for Story of the Year is the article “Defining Fake News,” written by Michelle Chu and Emma Stiefel, infographics by Taylor Anderson and art by Sarah Aftab.

Advisor Dean Hume is very proud of the students, saying, “The reporting (the students) do is routinely beyond many professional publications. They pride themselves on telling the entire story - not just the easy part.”

Lakota East principal Suzanna Davis applauds the group for their commitment to integrity and ethics in journalism. “Spark continues to be the gold standard for student publications across the nation. The staff continues to set the bar high, subscribing to the highest standards in journalism.”