Lakota Honors Volunteers for Service

Lakota Honors Volunteers for Service to Schools, District
Posted on 05/02/2018
This is the image for the news article titled Lakota Honors Volunteers for Service to Schools, District
Photo of Barb Bossu Volunteer AwardsOne of the presenters at Wednesday’s Barb Bossu Volunteer Spirit Awards referenced a favorite Woody Hayes quote: “You win with people.” Presenter after presenter shared the same sentiment, detailing all the things made possible at their school because of the selflessness of their volunteers. 

Twenty-three of the district’s most standout volunteers were awarded the coveted “Barb Bossu Volunteer Spirit Award” for their service and dedication to their school community. Each year, Lakota schools and the district accept nominations to recognize the top volunteers whose positive spirit and generosity of time and talent contribute to students’ overall Lakota experience.

“I truly believe it takes all of us. We can’t do what we do for our kids without our parents and volunteers,” said Lakota Superintendent Matthew Miller. “I want to congratulate all of our winners, but also thank all of our volunteers who give so selflessly all year long.” 

This year’s award recipients included: 
  • Robyn Knappenberger - District winner
  • Danielle Rodecker - Creekside ECS
  • Lisa DeMonge - Liberty ECS
  • Amanda Wilson - Shawnee ECS
  • Betty Carter - Wyandot ECS
  • Amy Pitzer - Adena Elementary
  • Martha Risher - Cherokee Elementary
  • Kristin Bramblett - Endeavor Elementary
  • Julie Nguyen - Freedom Elementary
  • Kris Lougherie - Heritage Elementary
  • Jen  Smith-Bui - Hopewell Elementary
  • Catherine Ott - Independence Elementary
  • Susanne Page - Union Elementary
  • Lara Williams - VanGorden Elementary
  • Beth Browning - Woodland Elementary
  • Barbara Grace - Hopewell Junior
  • Linda McCrary - Liberty Junior
  • LeeAnn Hines - Plains Junior
  • Jim Sparnall - Ridge Junior
  • Linda Lohman & Rita Gayer - Lakota East High School & Freshman Campus
  • Jenny Bishop - Lakota West Freshman Campus
  • Phil Hobbs -Lakota West High School