Lakota Shout-Outs 4.27.18

Lakota Shout-Outs: April 27
Posted on 05/04/2018
This is the image for the news article titled Lakota Shout-Outs: April 27

photo collage of shout-outs for 4.27.18
Eight East, West Students Move on to TSA Nationals

Six Lakota East students - Noah Clippinger, Gabe Pascoal, Andrew McCrary, Eli Tivin, Jake Brinck, and Joseph Wiberg - and two West students - Oscar Mussari and Nick Wassan - qualified for the Technology Student Association (TSA) national competition this summer in Atlanta, Georgia. Students from grades 7-12 will be represented at the June 22-26 competition.

The students competed in the annual VEX Robotics Competition hosted by Ohio TSA. where they qualified for nationals. The VEX Robotics competition has a new challenge every year, and the students spent nine weeks building their robots in their Principles of Engineering class. Besides competing in robotics competitions, the students also participate in other events that include 3D computer aided design (CAD), Tech Problem Solving, Flight Endurance, and many more.

East, West Students Qualify for HOSA International

Twenty-five students from Lakota East and 11 students from Lakota West placed in the top three in their respective competitions at the Ohio Health Occupations Students of America (HOSA) State Leadership Conference in Columbus on April 10 and 11. These students will now attend the HOSA International Leadership Conference in Dallas, Texas from June 27-30 to compete in their respective categories.


The 25 East students moving on to the international competition include Linsey Thompson, Megan Hatfield, Madison Hart, and MacKenzie Wilson who placed first in creative problem solving; Madison Owens, Emma Collett, Maddox Linneman, and Martha Yost who placed third in Health Care Issues; Jack Cooney, Ben Reimer, Chris Whitehead, and Peyton Bruce who placed third in the HOSA Bowl; Jewel Hicks and Julia Hartinger who placed second in CERT skills; Hannah Ackerman and Sofia Seppi who placed first in CPR/first aid; Sara Cope and Aly Hamilton who placed third in EMT; Julia Finley who placed first in transcultural healthcare; Haseeb Bakali, Shamil Abdu, Kamil Sacha, and James Cosgrove who placed second in medical innovations; and Megan Hoke who placed second in medical math.

The 11 West students moving onto international competition include: Julieta Ramirez and Saliha Watley who placed on the healthcare issues exam; Courtney Powless who placed second in Human Growth and Development; Jacob Bitonte who placed first in Human Growth and Development; Farha Watley who placed second in Nutrition; Grace McCaughey who placed second in Pathophysiology; Abby Rockenhaus who placed second in Epidemiology; Elena Tunis who placed first in Medical Law and Ethic; Max Murdock and Khalil Saleh who placed third in Medical Innovation; and Alexis Lam who placed second in Behavioral Health.

Lakota Assistant Treasurer Earns 'Emerging Leaders' Award

Lakota Assistant Treasurer Adam Zink received the "Emerging Leaders Scholarship" at the 2018 Ohio Association of School Business Officials conference. The award is open to any school business official for five years of experience or less who wants to expand their professional network, skills and leadership abilities. Adam received $1,000 to attend the 2018 Battle of Lake Erie Leadership Conference Aug. 5-7. 

East Junior Selected as Ohio HOSA Officer

Lakota East junior Beakal “Bea” Amsalu was elected as the Ohio Health Occupations Students of America (HOSA) State Treasurer for the 2018-19 school year. After an intensive application process, which included a written test and an interview, Amsalu was announced as a top ten candidate in early April. At the Ohio HOSA State Leadership Conference hosted on April 10 and 11, Amsalu gave a speech in front of all of the 1,500 students in attendance. Out of the final ten candidates, Amsalu was one of six to receive a position.

Hopewell Students Qualify for State Invention Convention 

Five Hopewell Elementary students are moving on to the Invention Convention state competition. Emma Cooney and Emily Miorin qualified with their invention “The Fidget Binder,” which helps students with ADHD. Tyler Wetherington qualified with his invention “Walking Water Stick,” which helps filter water as it passes through. The final qualifiers were Sydney Lewis and Ava Britton-Heitz with their invention “The Chesk,” which combines comfort and function into a desk. The students will attend the state conference on July 29 at the Ohio State Fair in Columbus.