Lakota Welcomes New Administrators 2019-20

Lakota Welcomes New Administrators
Posted on 08/09/2019
This is the image for the news article titled Lakota Welcomes New Administrators

As the district prepares to welcome back students for the 2019-20 school year, Lakota welcomes new administrators at several schools, as well as in four key district positions. These positions are a result of some administrators having the opportunity to advance their career outside of Lakota, while a few have moved to their home district.

“In looking ahead to the next school year, I’m excited to welcome this group of administrators to Lakota. While some are brand new to us, others are embracing a new role in the district,” said Superintendent Matthew Miller. “I’m looking forward to seeing how our students will benefit from their leadership and the fresh ideas they will bring from their former positions and districts.”

Kevin Thomas will move into the principal position at Shawnee Early Childhood School, where he has been the assistant principal for the past four years. Thomas was a teacher at Union Elementary prior to moving to an administrator role at Shawnee.

New Shawnee Assistant Principal Traci Hummer joins the team from Oakwood Schools in Dayton where she served as acting principal this past school year. She has served as a school counselor for five years and was previously a school nurse in both Kettering and Lakota.

After serving as interim assistant principal at Creekside Early Childhood School (ECS) during the 2018-19 school year, Jessica Skelton will return in the fall as the assistant principal. Prior to joining the Creekside staff, Skelton spent the last four years as a special education teacher in Lakota.

Melissa Myers will join Hopewell ECS as assistant principal. Myers has taught both first and third grades in Milford since 2003.

Rebecca Francko has been a teaching and learning consultant in Lakota since 2015. She will move into the assistant principal role at Wyandot ECS in the fall. This is Francko’s first position as an administrator. Prior to coming to Lakota, Francko was a teacher and coach in West Carrollton.

Regina Kirchner will be moving from Wyandot ECS, where she spent the last two years as assistant principal, to the assistant director of instruction (K-8) role. In this position, Kirchner will provide instructional support for Lakota’s 18 K-8 buildings. After spending 12 years in the classroom in the district, Kirchner spent four years teaching at Wyoming before returning to Wyandot. She is also an adjunct professor at Xavier University.

Theresa Brock has been named the new principal at Endeavor Elementary School. Brock moves to the school after five years as an administrator at Shawnee Early Childhood. Prior to Shawnee, Brock held several roles at Hopewell Elementary, including assistant principal and acting principal.

Joining Brock at Endeavor as assistant principal is Kim Peters. Peters has been a special education teacher at Endeavor for the past 8 years.

Julie Arnold is moving to Adena from Endeavor elementary school as the new assistant principal. Arnold has been with the district for over 20 years, most recently leading the sixth-grade team and teaching advanced math.

Woodland Elementary welcomes new Assistant Principal Michele Huber this year. Huber has been teaching fourth and sixth grades at Finneytown since 2009. She also taught seventh and eighth grades at Assumption School from 2000-2004.

Kara Yates will join Union Elementary as the new assistant principal. Yates began her teaching career in Lexington, KY, where she taught for six years. She joins Lakota from Fort Thomas, where she has been a fifth grade teacher since 2017.

Justin Frost returns to Lakota as the new assistant principal at Plains Junior School. Frost spent last year as the assistant principal at Hamilton Freshman School. He previously taught Social Studies at Lakota East High School.

Nicole Isaacs has been named the new assistant principal at Lakota West High School. For the past three years, Isaacs has been the principal at Lakota’s Career Readiness Academy. Under her leadership, the Academy’s enrollment has more than doubled.

Since 2014, Matt MacFarlane has served as an adaptive physical education and special education teacher in the district. In his new role, MacFarlane will be an assistant principal at Lakota East High School. Prior to coming to Lakota, he spent seven years at the Lockport School District as a teacher and coach.

Mike Anderson will be moving from guidance counselor at Lakota West, where he has served since 2014, to the assistant principal role at West Freshman. Prior to coming to Lakota, Anderson spent 15 years as a teacher and then counselor at Princeton.

Melinda (Mindy) Reichelt has been named the new associate principal at the district’s Career Readiness Academy. With a background in alternative school initiatives, Reichelt joins Lakota from Butler Tech where she was an instructional coach.

Justin Wilson is moving from the assistant principal position at West Freshman to become the assistant director of instruction for grades 9-12 at Lakota West. In this new role, Wilson will provide instructional support for the freshman and main campuses. Prior to his two years as assistant principal at Lakota, Wilson taught at Forest Hills and Princeton.

Coming to Lakota from Finneytown, where she worked for 24 years, Deana Moss has been named the assistant director of instruction for grades 9-12 at Lakota East’s main campus and freshman building. Moss has an extensive background in teaching, learning and curriculum.

Emily Hermann will serve in the role of assistant director of K-2 program development. Hermann has been with the district since 2002. Prior to serving as a teacher on special assignment with the curriculum department in 2017, she began teaching first grade at Cherokee in 2002.  

Lauren Webb has been named the assistant director of gifted. Webb started in Lakota in 2005 as a language arts teacher at Liberty Junior.  Most recently, she was involved in the gifted program as a gifted support advisor assisting students, teachers and parents involved with the gifted program.

Brian Drake and Paula Hickey will become assistant directors of special education for grades K-12. Their experience as teachers on special assignment in the special services department will serve them well in this new role. Drake and Hickey will be responsible for federal compliance and special education oversight.

Sherri Copeland has been named the director of special education for grades seven-eight. Copeland’s experience in compliance and special education as a teacher on special assignment at Lakota has prepared her for this administrator role.

Maureen Brenner will be Lakota’s new preschool director. Brenner joins the district from the Butler County Education Service Center where she was a preschool coordinator for Middletown City Schools. Prior to her role at the BCESC, Brenner was an administrator in Fairfield.

Keri Albrinck has been named the new assistant director of preschool for Lakota. Albrinck will be joining the preschool team from Adena Elementary, where she was the assistant principal for five years.