Lakota Shout-Outs: May 10

Lakota Shout-Outs: May 10
Posted on 05/15/2019
This is the image for the news article titled Lakota Shout-Outs: May 10collage of May 10 shout-outs

East's Singing Thunderhawks Bring Home Awards

The Lakota East Singing Thunderhawks found success at recent competitions, both at the state and national levels, achieving superior and excellent ratings, along with a Best in Class for their division.

Festival Disney:
Men's Ensemble: Excellent
Women's Black and Silver: Superior
Eastside Music Company: Superior
Eastside Voices: Superior, Best in Class Division AAAA, 3rd Place Bronze Mickey for Concert Choir

OMEA Southwest State Competition:
Women’s Black & Silver
Eastside Voices
Women’s Freshman Ensemble


West's Kurtz Featured on Nature Valley Granola Cups Box

During the month of May, Allison Kurtz, a senior at Lakota West, can be seen on specially marked boxes of Nature Valley Granola Cups at Costco. The retailer is celebrating Children's Miracle Network Month in May by carrying the boxes. The items are available at all Costco locations. Allison will be making special appearances throughout the month at Cincinnati locations.

East Holds Final Athletic Signing Event

On May 1, Lakota East invited signed college athletes and their families to attend the final Athletic Signing Day, where all 44 scholar-athletes who signed throughout the school year were recognized, including:


Riley Adleta: Urbana University (Volleyball)
Casey Berglund: Wilmington College (Baseball)
Nathaniel Bird: Mount Saint Joseph University (Lacrosse)
Jada Bouyer: University of Toledo (Volleyball)
Max Chandler: Bluffton University (Cross Country & Track)
Sean Church: Otterbein University (Football)
Brandon Clark: Trine University (Lacrosse)
Ethan Crawford: Capital University (Baseball)
Andrew Douglas: Trine University (Lacrosse)
Logan Fox: Otterbein University (Basketball & Lacrosse)
Garrison Hamilton: Ohio Dominican University (Baseball)
Grayson Hamilton: Ohio Dominican University (Baseball)
Sydney Harrison: Miami University - Hamilton (Basketball)
Madison Hart: Mount Saint Joseph University (Soccer)
Megan Hatfield: Ohio Wesleyan University (Basketball)
Chloe Heard: Capital University (Lacrosse)
Kaylyn Heath: The Ohio State University (Track & Field)
Ethan Hubbard: Lincoln Memorial University (Volleyball)
Trey Jesse: Capital University (Football)
Will Johnston: Mount Saint Joseph University (Basketball)
Lindsey Kluesener: University of Findlay (Track & Field)
Jenna Kralik: Ohio University (Soccer)
Kate Larbes: Morehead State University (Soccer)
Sydney Larson: Ohio University (Softball)
Andrew Macedo: University of Cincinnati - Clermont (Soccer)
Avi McGary: Bowling Green University (Football)
Quinton Moss: Centre College (Football)
Shane Murphy Capital University Golf
Ali Neumeier: Wright State University (Cross Country & Track)
Dylan Newman: Wilmington College (Baseball)
Katie O'Brien: Upper Iowa University (Basketball & Lacrosse)
Katherine Picray: The Ohio State University (Rowing)
Kyle Schmidt: University of Dayton (Golf)
Savanah Schwarz University of the Cumberlands Volleyball
Luke Shelby: Tiffin University (Soccer)
Kalie Siereveld: Otterbein University (Basketball)
Kaitlyn Smith: Indiana Wesleyan University (Cross Country & Track)
Grant Spicer: Ohio Wesleyan University (Basketball)
Jake Ware: Otterbein University (Lacrosse)
Bash Wieland: Bellarmine University (Basketball)
Tyler Wilkerson: Otterbein University (Football)
Donnie Wilkinson: Muskingum University (Football)
Emily Willms: Otterbein University (Lacrosse)
Bree Wilson: Rhodes College (Golf)


East Seniors Win Ohio Computing & Technology Award

Lakota East seniors Elizabeth Pinder and Hannah Nguyen have been named 2019 Ohio Affiliate Award for Aspirations in Computing winners. Presented by the National Center for Women and Information Technology (NCWIT), this award honors young women in high school who are actively involved in computing and technology. Only 17 students in Ohio received the award.