Gifted Services

Gifted Dept News

For students that have been identified gifted by the Ohio Department of Education (ODE), districts are required to send a yearly notice about a Written Education Plan (WEP). Your student will be coming home with the notification in September. Currently, the only students that receive Written Education Plans are ones in Math Plus. For better understanding of the WEP process, please click here. Lakota provides many supports for gifted students, even though these are not deemed a “service” by ODE. For an outline of services and supports by grade band, please click here

 

Welcome to Gifted Services


The Lakota Local School District believes in the appropriate education of all its students. Lakota staff adhere to several policies related to the advancement of students, including gifted identification, acceleration, early entrance to school, as well as early graduation.


While gifted services are not mandated in Ohio, Lakota believes in providing a quality and rigorous education to all students. Through a large menu of opportunities, advanced students may qualify and participate in services designed to meet their unique learning needs. This section of the website provides an overview of Lakota’s services and criteria for placement.

We aim to meet the needs of our gifted students through a wide continuum of services that include:

  • An advanced curriculum.
  • Use of differentiated instructional strategies.
  • Placement in specific gifted programs for gifted students.
  • Honors and advanced placement classes for secondary students.

The type of service and programming provided to gifted students depends on recent assessment data and what is determined to be most appropriate in meeting an individual student’s needs.


 

Contact Information

Location

Gifted Services

Lakota Central Office
5572 Princeton Road
Liberty Township, OH 45011 [Directions]
Phone: (513) 644-1186 
Fax: (513) 644-1181
giftedservices@lakotaonline.com
Central Office Staff

Lori Brown

Director of Student Services
lori.brown@lakotaonline.com
(513) 644-1186, option 3, or ext. 22081​


Lauren Webb
Asst Director of Gifted Services
(513) 644-1209
lauren.webb@lakotaonline.com

April Bain
Data Specialist
(513) 644-1186, option 4 or ext. 22121
april.bain@lakotaonline.com

Barb Warne
Administrative Secretary
(513) 644-1186, option 1 or ext. 22003
barbara.warne@lakotaonline.com


Building Staff for 3-12 Buildings


Building Staff Email
Adena Debbie Roberts debbie.roberts@lakotaonline.com
Cherokee Erin Maddox erin.maddox@lakotaonline.com
Endeavor Molly Adams mollyremeradams@lakotaonline.com
Freedom Christy Knopp christy.knopp@lakotaonline.com
Independence Denelle Garman denelle.garman@lakotaonline.com
Union Amy Alexander amy.alexander@lakotaonline.com
VanGorden Linda Croy linda.croy@lakotaonline.com
Woodland Stephanie Fulmer stephanie.fulmer@lakotaonline.com
Grades 7-12 Gifted Support Advisor  Ron Henrich ron.henrich@lakotaonline.com
Forms & Resources

District-Wide Curriculum Events​

Enrichment Opportunities


Follow Us on Social Media
 
Facebook 
@LakotaGifted
facebook logo


    
Twitter

@LakotaGifted